Still here!

Sorry I’ve been AWOL lately, just a lot going on. A lot of my spare time is going towards filling out job applications – I’m currently looking for a 2nd job to make ends meet – total suck. School is going well, but I’m not sure for how much longer… I can’t afford school without more income, but with two jobs I don’t know when I’ll go to school! Oy.

Anyhow, I’m still reading a lot. I recently started reading “Mental Bondage in the Name of God” by Aidid Safar. I have mixed feelings about it: in a nutshell, he claims that there’s been a massive conspiracy to hide the true message of the Quran by mistranslating certain key words – for example, he claims that Salat means commitments, not prayer. I’m not sure if I buy it. I mean, I don’t know the least bit of Arabic, so he could say Salat means square dancing and I wouldn’t be able to refute such a claim. Its an interesting concept though – imagine if Muslims were required to do at least 5 good deeds every day, instead of 5 prayers! Not an altogether bad thought, in my opinion. But the writer loses me when he goes on emotional rants about evil Arab conspirators and random condemnation of Judaism (and religion in general), and his “with us or against us” attitude is not at all helpful.

Its only noon, and I’m already tired again. I really need something to go my way soon.

9 responses to “Still here!

  1. Sounds like free-minds.org… They are Qur’an only and so take NOTHING from hadiths or history as indicators for what something could mean. It’s interesting, but there’s a lot of crap too, I feel!

    • There IS a lot of crap on free-minds.org, but on the other hand I like that they aren’t willing to just accept the status quo and believe whoever calls themselves an Islamic scholar. Still, its difficult, if not impossible, to discern between the stuff that might be legitimate and the stuff thats just bs spewing from the mouths of egotistical iconoclasts.

  2. Welcome back sophia! I hope everything will work out for you, with work and school. My prayer is for you.
    As for Aidid Safar’s Mental Bondage, i find this book is very thought provoking, he/she ask a lot of question regarding our own faith, teasing us, by our ‘traditional’ belief. This book leads me to make a lot of cross referrence with arabic root word :http://www.studyquran.co.uk/PRLonline.htm, and go on really question one self’s faith. It is not a matter of agreeing to what his/her perception is, but his/her writing provoke us to look into our own self, and answer his/her interesting ‘questions’. I almost threw this book on the floor the first time i read it, but after a few time consoling my self its just a book- i find it ask a lot of tough question we don’t dare to ask ourselves.

    • Thanks Hajar! I’m sure things will turn around soon if I keep hanging on.

      Asking the tough questions is important. I feel like if Islam can’t stand up to criticism, it can’t be the truth, so any criticism will actually help me find faith in the long run. Thanks so much for that link! I was just going to ask if anyone knew where I could verify all this root word craziness, and you beat me too it!

  3. Good to hear from you Sophia! Miss your posts…

    I can understand why you’d have mixed feelings, that does sound a bit conspicuous to me as well… Though, like you said, it is an interesting idea. How about we pray 5 times a day and do 5 good deeds a day?

    Hope your financial issues get solved soon, inshAllah. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  4. Thanks Becky! I missed you guys too. This book is definitely biased, which makes it hard to believe, at least for me. Plus you can’t debate with the guy – anyone who translates words differently is brainwashed by the “religionists”… anyone who is that convinced they’re right probably isn’t, in my opinion.

    Thanks for your good thoughts, it means a lot.

    • I agree. It often seems to me that the people who are 100% convinced that they’re right and can’t possibly be wrong – are most likely to be wrong. None of us are perfect, life is a lifelong journey in gathering knowledge and learning.

  5. I hope you can get some rest soon. Good to hear from you and about the book you are reading. Sounds interesting! 🙂

  6. Miss you, Sophia! I hope things are getting better for you.

Leave a Reply

